The Beacon Council Announces 2016 Board of Directors

December 15, 2015
(Miami, FL – Dec. 15, 2015) – The Miami-Dade Beacon Council is proud to announce its 2016 Board of Directors. The Beacon Council is a public-private partnership whose mission is to increase jobs and investment in Miami-Dade County. It is led by its Board of Directors, representatives from the public and private sectors who are responsible for the leadership and strategic direction of the organization.
The Board Officers include; Chair Ernie Diaz, TD Bank in Florida; Chair-Elect Jaret L. Davis, Greenberg Traurig’s Miami office; Secretary Patricia Thompson, Carlton Fields Jorden Burt; Treasurer Yolanda R. Nader, Dosal Tobacco; and Beacon Council President & CEO Larry K. Williams.
“We are fortunate to have a leadership team that includes key business and community leaders whose confidence, foresight and commitment help make Miami-Dade’s vision as a world-class, global business destination a reality,” Diaz said.
The Beacon Council President & CEO Larry Williams said: “They are champions of economic development who understand how our community benefits from creating a positive business climate.”
2015-2016 Board of Directors
Donna Abood, Avison Young
Sheldon Anderson, Northern Trust
Antonio L. Argiz, Morrison, Brown Argiz & Farra
Patricia Arias, CAMACOL
Joe Atkinson, Wells Fargo
The Honorable Bryan Avila, State Representative, Miami-Dade Legislative Delegation
Javier Aviño, Bilzin Sumberg
Eduardo Balcazar, SunTrust
Alan Becker, Becker & Poliakoff
Sigfredo Birriel, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Tere Blanca, Blanca Commercial Real Estate
The Honorable Luigi Boria, Mayor of Doral
George Burgess, Becker & Poliakoff
Hugo Castro, AXA Advisors
The Honorable Daniella Levine Cava, Miami-Dade County Commissioner
Brian Clay, BankUnited
Terry Curry, Ocean Bank
Thomas M. David, Fuerst, Ittleman, David & Joseph
Calixto Garcia-Velez, FirstBank Florida
The Honorable Oliver G. Gilbert III, Mayor of Miami Gardens
Jaret Davis, Greenberg Traurig
J. Ernesto “Ernie” Diaz, TD Bank
Xavier Gonzalez, Technology Foundation of the Americas
Mary Jo Eaton, CBRE
Robert R. Feldmann, RSM US
John D. Fumagalli, Northern Trust
The Honorable Carlos A. Gimenez, Mayor of Miami-Dade County
Gary Goldfarb, Interport Group of Companies
Emilio T. Gonzalez, Miami International Airport
Matt Haggman, Knight Foundation
Bradley Houser, Akerman
The Honorable Carlos Hernandez, Mayor of Hialeah
The Honorable Kent Hippolyte, Dean of the Consular Corps of Miami
Ted Hoepner, The Beacon Council Founder
Phillip M. Hudson III, Arnstein & Lehr
Saif Ishoof, Florida International University
Barry E. Johnson, Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce
Maria Johnston, AT&T
The Honorable Smith Joseph, Mayor of North Miami
Carlos Migoya, Jackson Health System
The Honorable Burton A. Landy, Consul General of Korea
Nelson Lazo, Doctors Hospital BHSF
Sidney Levin, The Beacon Council Founder
The Honorable Phillip Levine, Mayor of Miami Beach
Jack Lowell, Colliers International South Florida
Peter J. Loyello, Miami Marlins
Richard Kuper, Miami-Dade League of Cities
Juan Kuryla, PortMiami
Daniel Mackler, Gunster
Tomislav Mandakovic, Barry University
Rodrigo “Roddy” Melendez, KPMG
Jacqueline R. Menendez, University of Miami
Ben Mollere, Baptist Health South Florida
The Honorable Jean Monestime, Miami-Dade County Commission Chairman
Roberto Muñoz, BBVA Compass
Yolanda R. Nader, Dosal Tobacco Company
Phillis Oeters, Baptist Health South Florida
Stephen Owens, Swire Properties
Eduardo J. Padron, Miami Dade College
Joseph W. Pallot, HEICO Corporation
The Honorable Jeff Porter, Mayor of Homestead
Olga Ramudo, Express Travel
Carolina Rendeiro
The Honorable Tomas Regalado, Mayor of Miami
Walter Robinson, Robinson Commercial Real Estate Services
Joseph Roisman, Perry Ellis International
Mary Scott Russell, Chamber South
Virginia Sanchez, Diageo | Laureum Group
Penny Shaffer, Florida Blue
Ron Shuffield, EWM Realty International
Merrett Stierheim, The Beacon Council Founder
William D. Talbert III, Greater Miami Convention and Visitors Bureau
Patricia H. Thompson, Carlton Fields Jorden Burt
Mark Trowbridge, Coral Gables Chamber of Commerce
Aviv Tzur, AvBiz Aerospace Ventures
Peter Ulrich, Boston Consulting Group
Antonio Villamil, Washington Economics Group
Alexandra Villoch, Miami Herald Media Company
Dawn B. White, American Airlines
Irene White, Florida Power & Light
Larry K. Williams, The Beacon Council  
The Beacon Council thanks its public and private partners for their dedication to the sustainability of our growing economy.
About The Beacon Council
The Beacon Council, Miami-Dade County’s official economic development partnership, is a public-private organization celebrating its 30th anniversary. Since 1985, the nonprofit has assisted more than 980 businesses that have created more than 65,000 direct jobs and added more than $4 billion in new capital investments. The organization accomplishes this by marketing Miami-Dade as a world-class business location, growing local companies and shaping the local economy’s future. For more information, visit

Source: Old Beacon Site