Community Leaders Join Forces

The One Community One Goal strategic plan was created by the businesses, academic institutions, local governments, community organizations and residents of Miami-Dade County. It is designed to be holistic; implementation requires involvement by a broard spectrum of Miami-Dade County organizations.

National leaders have praised the community for its ability to work together to identify and overcome challenges while seizing opportunities and improving the community. Its success is built on the multi-sector collaboration established in its original design and carried forward through its many initiatives and activities.

One Community One Goal Co-Chairs

Assisting with driving OCOG priorities and engaging the community. There are always three co-chairs and they consist of the Mayor of Miami-Dade County and two private sector leaders.  The private sector leaders serve a two-year term.  The current OCOG co-chairs are:

Mayor Carlos A. Gimenez

Miami-Dade County

Sheldon T. Anderson

Co-Chair, One Community One Goal;
Board member of the Miami Dade College Foundation, board member of Grove Bank and Trust

Nitin Motwani

Co-Chair, One Community One Goal; Managing Principal, Miami Worldcenter Associates

“One Community One Goal has had great success in the past few years. Our collaborative effort has resulted in substantial target-industry growth that will add high-paying jobs to our world-class community. I expect that our momentum will continue into the future with the economic growth plan we have in place.”

The Academic Leaders Council (ALC)

The Academic Leaders Council (ALC) was established to create an educational ecosystem that aligns with the business community to ensure worker availability for the future and to help students’ skill sets keep pace with business needs.  Its members are top educational leaders in the country including the presidents of the county’s universities and college, and the superintendent of the public-school system.

ALC was formed by the presidents of Barry University, Florida International University, Florida Memorial University, Miami Dade College, St. Thomas University, the University of Miami and the Superintendent of the Miami-Dade Public School System. Organized through the One Community One Goal initiative, these educational leaders, who are recognized as being among the top educational leaders in the country, have made it their mission to anticipate and develop the future talent needs of our community and develop a pipeline of qualified workers that would supply the needs of a sustainable business environment. Today, these educators meet regularly with industry leaders. Through the One Community One Goal initiative, these education leaders have made changes to their respective curricula to meet the specific needs of Miami’s business community.

Alberto M. Carvalho

Miami-Dade Public Schools Superintendent

Julio Frenk

University of Miami President

Eduardo Padron

Miami-Dade College President

Mark B. Rosenberg

Florida International University President

Msgr. Franklyn M. Casale

St. Thomas University President

Dr. Castell Bryant

Florida Memorial University Interim President 

Sister Linda Bevilacqua

Barry University President

One of the most unique programs created by the ALC is The One Community One Goal Talent Development Network (TDN – This online tool was formally launched in 2016. This  website pairs students with employers for paid internships. Students are discovering job and career opportunities in their community… and staying here.

“Miami-Dade County Public Schools is proud of our partnership with the One Community One Goal. Over the past five years, the ALC has been able to provide valuable programs that strengthen the One Community One Goal target industries. Our dedication to innovative educational programming and new degrees is preparing our students for their place in the 21st century workforce and allows them to assume their positions as global citizens.”

Miami-Dade Sites

View maps to find land, commercial space, and data points in Miami-Dade county.

Back to Top